The Excavators' Club of Harvard University records
Scope and Contents
Also included is detailed material pertaining to two sites excavated by the Club, the Blue Hills site (in 194-) and the Danforth-Foxcroft house (in 194-). Documents from the first excavation include a stack of field cards and photoprints and negatives of the field session. The second excavation's material includes correspondence arranging the dig, background history of the house, and several field maps of the site at the corner of Oxford and Kirkland Streets, approximately the location of the present Science Center.
Major correspondents include John H. Rowe, Maurice Robbins, Edward Brooks, Douglas S. Byers, Edward M. Davis, Frederick Johnson, John Otis Brew.
- 1940 - 1957
- Brew, J. O. (John Otis), 1906-1988 (Person)
Biographical / Historical
- Excavators' Club of Harvard University records
- Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology
- Description rules
- Language of description
- EAD ID
Part of the Peabody Museum Archives Repository
The Peabody Museum Archives contains primary source materials that reflect the Museum’s archaeological and ethnographic research and fieldwork since its founding in 1866. Archival collections contain photographs, documents, papers, and records of enduring value that were created or collected by the Museum, its individual affiliates, or other related entities. The collections also document the history or provenience, as well as the creation of many of the Museum’s artifact collections. To learn more about research visits at the Peabody Museum, please see https://www.peabody.harvard.edu/research-visits.
11 Divinity Ave.
Cambridge MA 02128 USA