Skip to main content
COLLECTION Identifier: MS Am 1649.1-1649.23

Frederick M. Dearborn collection of military and political Americana, Part I: The Revolution and the Administration


Autograph letters and documents of American political and military leaders collected by Frederick Myers Dearborn.


  • 1669-1958

Language of Materials

Collection materials are in English.

Conditions Governing Access

There are no restrictions on physical access to this material. Collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Images linked to the finding aid describing this collection are intended for public access and educational use. This material is owned and/or held by the Houghton Library, and is provided solely for the purpose of teaching or individual research. Any other use, including commercial reuse, mounting on other systems, or other forms of redistribution requires the permission of the curator.


14 linear feet (28 boxes and 1 pf box)

Autograph letters and documents of American political and military leaders and others associated with the Revolution, presidential administrations, and other political and military events. Persons represented include delegates to the Albany Congress, Stamp Act Congress, Continental Congress, and Hartford Convention; signers of the Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, and U.S. Constitution; officers of the Revolution; aides and secretaries to George Washington; state and colonial governors of the original 13 states, except Connecticut and New Jersey; and presidents and their cabinets through Dwight D. Eisenhower.

Biographical / Historical

Frederick Myers Dearborn (1876-1960), who formed this collection, was a dermatologist of New York City.


Arranged into the following series:

  1. I. bMS Am 1649.1: Albany Convention
  2. II. bMS Am 1649.2: Stamp Act Congress
  3. III. bMS Am 1649.3: Signers of the Declaration of Independence
  4. IV. bMS Am 1649.4: Presidents and Secretaries of the Continental Congress
  5. V. bMS Am 1649.5: Members of the Continental Congress
  6. VI. bMS Am 1649.6: American General Officers of the Revolution
  7. VII. bMS Am 1649.7: Aides and Secretaries of General Washington
  8. VIII. bMS Am 1649.8: Signers of the Articles of Confederation
  9. IX. bMS Am 1649.9: Signers of the Constitution
  10. X. bMS Am 1649.10: Revolution - Miscellaneous
  11. XI. bMS Am 1649.11: Governors of Rhode Island
  12. XII. bMS Am 1649.12: Governors of Delaware
  13. XIII. bMS Am 1649.13: Governors of Maryland
  14. XIV. bMS Am 1649.14: Governors of North Carolina
  15. XV. bMS Am1649.15: Governors of South Carolina
  16. XVI. bMS Am1649.16: Governors of Georgia
  17. XVII. bMS AM 1649.17: Governors of Virginia
  18. XVIII. bMS AM 1649.18: Governors of New Hampshire
  19. XIX: bMS Am 1649.19: Governors of Pennsylvania
  20. XX. bMS Am 1649.20: Governors of New York
  21. XXI. bMS Am 1649.21: Governors of Massachusetts
  22. XXII. bMS Am 1649.22: Hartford Convention
  23. XXIII. bMS Am1649.23: Presidents and Cabinets
XXIII. bMS Am1649.23: Presidents and Cabinets: subseries
  1. First Administration: George Washington
  2. Second Administration: George Washington
  3. Third Administration: John Adams
  4. Fourth Administration: Thomas Jefferson
  5. Fifth Administration: Thomas Jefferson
  6. Sixth Administration: James Madison
  7. Seventh Administration: James Madison
  8. Eight Administration: James Monroe
  9. Ninth Administration: James Monroe
  10. Tenth Administration: John Quincy Adams
  11. Eleventh Administration: Andrew Jackson
  12. Twelfth Administration: Andrew Jackson
  13. Thirteenth Administration: Martin Van Buren
  14. Fourteenth Administration: William Henry Harrison
  15. Fifteenth Administration: John Tyler
  16. Sixteenth Administration: James Knox Polk
  17. Seventeenth Administration: Zachary Taylor
  18. Eighteenth Administration: Millard Fillmore
  19. Nineteenth Administration: Franklin Pierce
  20. Twentieth Administration: James Buchanan
  21. Twenty-first Administration: Abraham Lincoln
  22. Twenty-second Administration: Abraham Lincoln
  23. Twenty-third Administration: Andrew Johnson
  24. Twenty-fourth Administration: Ulysses Simpson Grant
  25. Twenty-fifth Administration: Ulysses Simpson Grant
  26. Twenty-sixth Administration: Rutherford Burchard Hayes
  27. Twenty-seventh Administration: James Abram Garfield
  28. Twenty-eight Administration: Chester Alan Arthur
  29. Twenty-ninth Administration: Grover Cleveland
  30. Thirtieth Administration: Benjamin Harrison
  31. Thirty-first Administration: Grover Cleveland
  32. Thirty-second Administration: William McKinley
  33. Thirty-third Administration: William McKinley
  34. Thirty-fourth Administration: Theodore Roosevelt
  35. Thirty-fifth Administration: Theodore Roosevelt
  36. Thirty-sixth Administration: William Howard Taft
  37. Thirty-seventh Administration: Woodrow Wilson
  38. Thirty-eight Administration: Woodrow Wilson
  39. Thirty-ninth Administration: Warren Gamaliel Harding
  40. Fortieth Administration: Calvin Coolidge
  41. Forty-first Administration: Calvin Coolidge
  42. Forty-second Administration: Herbert Hoover
  43. Forty-third Administration: Franklin Delano Roosevelt
  44. Forty-fourth Administration: Franklin Delano Roosevelt
  45. Forty-fifth Administration: Franklin Delano Roosevelt
  46. Forty-sixth Administration: Franklin Delano Roosevelt
  47. Forty-seventh and Forty-eighth Administration: Harry S. Truman
  48. Forty-ninth Administration: David Dwight Eisenhower

Physical Location


Immediate Source of Acquisition

60DM-1-23. Bequest of Frederick M. Dearborn; received: 1960.

Dearborn, Frederick M. (Frederick Myers), b. 1876, collector. Frederick M. Dearborn collection of military and political Americana, Part I: The Revolution and the Administration, 1669-1958: Guide.
Houghton Library, Harvard College Library
Language of description

Repository Details

Part of the Houghton Library Repository

Houghton Library is Harvard College's principal repository for rare books and manuscripts, archives, and more. Houghton Library's collections represent the scope of human experience from ancient Egypt to twenty-first century Cambridge. With strengths primarily in North American and European history, literature, and culture, collections range in media from printed books and handwritten manuscripts to maps, drawings and paintings, prints, posters, photographs, film and audio recordings, and digital media, as well as costumes, theater props, and a wide range of other objects. Houghton Library has historically focused on collecting the written record of European and Eurocentric North American culture, yet it holds a large and diverse number of primary sources valuable for research on the languages, culture and history of indigenous peoples of the Americas, Africa, Asia and Oceania.

Houghton Library’s Reading Room is free and open to all who wish to use the library’s collections.

Harvard Yard
Harvard University
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
(617) 495-2440