Skip to main content
SERIES Identifier: HOLLIS 601604

National Commission on Consumer Finance


  • 1936 - 1971

Conditions Governing Access

Access to these papers is governed by the rules and regulations of the Harvard Law School Library. This collection is open to the public, but is housed off-site at Harvard Depository and requires 2 business-day advance notice for retrieval. Consult the Special Collections staff for further information.


1 collection (68 boxes and 3 Paige boxes)

Physical Location

Harvard Depository

General note

Series Note

The NCCF was created by the National Consumer Protection Act of 1968. The Commission, which consists of nine members, is a bi-partisan and is charged with the study of various aspects of consumer finance. Three of its members are drawn from the U.S. Senate, three from the House, and three are private citizens.

In 1969 Robert Braucher was appointed chairman of this Commission. Also appointed were: Robert W. Johnson and Ira M. Millstein; from the Senate: William Proxmire, D. Wisc., John J. Sparkman, D.Ala., and John G. Tower, R. Tex.; from the House: Seymour Halpern, R. N.Y., Wright Patman, D. Tex., and Leonor Sullivan, D. Mass.

Repository Details

Part of the Harvard Law School Library, Historical & Special Collections Repository

Harvard Law School Library's Historical & Special Collections (HSC) collects, preserves, and makes available research materials for the study of the law and legal history. HSC holds over 8,000 linear feet of manuscripts, over 100,000 rare books, and more than 70,000 visual images.

1545 Massachusetts Avenue
Langdell Hall
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
(617) 495-4550