Skip to main content
ITEM — Box: 2, Folder: 1 Identifier: UAI 15.10.5

A Coppe of the Plan of Cambridge New Meeting House which was excepted by the people, 1752 Digital

Scope and Contents

The floor plan details the proposed interior of the New Meeting House of the First Parish in Cambridge to be built near the College, in the present area of Lehman Hall. This land became Harvard property in 1833. The drawing includes space allotted for the pulpit, pews, and center aisle. The document is fragile.

Dates

  • Creation: 1752

Researcher Access

The Records of early Harvard buildings are open for research with the following exception: blueprints in this collection are restricted for 80 years from the date of creation.

Extent

2.05 cubic feet (3 flat boxes,1 legal document box, 1 bound volume, and 5 oversized folders)

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Gift of G.R. Harlow, 1937.

Creator

Repository Details

Part of the Harvard University Archives Repository

Holding nearly four centuries of materials, the Harvard University Archives is the principal repository for the institutional records of Harvard University and the personal archives of Harvard faculty, as well as collections related to students, alumni, Harvard-affiliates and other associated topics. The collections document the intellectual, cultural, administrative and social life of Harvard and the influence of the University as it emerged across the globe.

Contact:
Pusey Library
Harvard Yard
Cambridge MA 02138 USA
(617) 495-2461